Dream Act

The Vinesh Patel Law Firm is committed to helping childhood arrivals in the United States to avoid deportation. Call us for a free initial consultation at (855)278-2943 to find out if you can apply for the Dream Act.

Finally, the Dream Act has Arrived (Sort of…)

The Dream Act is finally here. Or at least some version of it. Below is a basic guide to the “Dream Act,” now known as Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals. On this page and others, I have tried my best to give you the basic eligibility requirements and steps for applying for deferred action. While you may decide to proceed alone, your safest bet is to consult with a qualified immigration attorney who is familiar with Dream Act requirements. I am happy to help at any step in the process, regardless of where in the country you live. You may call me at (855)278-2943.

What is the Dream Act?

The Dream Act refers broadly to a set of proposed laws which would give non-citizens who were brought here at a young age a pathway to citizenship.

Congress never passed the Dream Act.  Nonetheless, President Obama recently announced that he would implement a policy that would provide many non-citizens with benefits similar to what they would have under the Dream Act.

Thus, since June 15, 2012, the “Dream Act” commonly refers to President Obama’s decision to defer removal of many non-citizens who came the United States at a young age.  To be precise, the policy is called, “Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals.”  As of August 15, 2012, non-citizens can affirmatively apply to USCIS for this type of deferred action.

Am I eligible for the Dream Act?

For the sake of accuracy, the question should be rephrased: “Am I eligible to apply for deferred action based on a childhood arrival (DACA)?”

There are several requirements.

First, you must have arrived in the United States before your 16th birthday.

Second, you must be under the age of 31, and physically present in the United States, on June 15, 2012.

Third, you must have continuously resided in the United States since June 15, 2007.

Fourth, you must have entered without inspection before June 15, 2012, or any lawful immigrant status must have expired by this date.

Fifth, on the date you apply, you must have graduated high school, be enrolled in high school, obtained a GED, or have been honorably discharged from the US military.

Sixth, you must not have been convicted of a felony, significant misdemeanor, or three or more other misdemeanors, and you must not otherwise pose a threat to national security or public safety.